Iowa State University, Cleveland State University Overall Champions of 2022 Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge Events

Iowa State University and Cleveland State University took Overall Champion in the 2022 Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge events hosted by Danfoss Power Solutions and Norgren. This year’s program held two separate Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge competitions in an effort to reach more students and industry members. The events took place April 20-22 and April 27-29, 2022 and was our largest attendance to date with nearly 250 university and industry participants involved for the duration of this eight-month program.

The Vehicle Challenge is a competition that combines two technology platforms that are not normally associated with one another—human-powered vehicles and fluid power. Teams are tasked with designing and building their own fluid power vehicles and then they demonstrate their entries in three races with the help of NFPA industry sponsors, judges, and mentors. During the final events, students give a presentation on their vehicle construction, testing, and lessons learned. Each team also meets individually with all of the industry judges who assess their vehicle design.

The champions of the Danfoss-hosted event are:

  • Overall Champion: Iowa State University
  • 2nd Place: Murray State University
  • 3rd Place: University of Cincinnati

The champions of the Norgren-hosted event are:

  • Overall Champion: Cleveland State University
  • 2nd Place: University of Akron
  • 3rd Place: Arizona State University

Click here for the full list of universities were recognized for exemplary performance this year.


This year’s events also highlighted the use of pneumatics and electronics in addition to the traditional hydraulic systems in teams’ designs. The prize for Best Use of Pneumatics, sponsored by Norgren, was taken home by Murray State University and California Polytechnic State University. The prize for Innovative Use of Electronics, sponsored by IFP Motion Solutions Inc., was taken home by the University of Cincinnati and Purdue University.

Thank you to the NFPA Foundation donors who support this program:

Event Hosts

  • Danfoss Power Solutions
  • Norgren

Program Sponsors

  • IFP Motion Solutions Inc.
  • Norgren
  • SunSource

Founding Sponsor

  • Parker Hannifin Corporation

Product Suppliers

  • Danfoss Power Solutions
  • Eaton Corporation
  • Lubrizol
  • Source Fluid Power
  • VEST, Inc.

We would also like to thank the industry representatives who served as judges during the Midway Reviews or Final Competition, served as mentors to guide students throughout the program year, and the representatives who met with the students during the Fall Networking mixer and each event to talk about career opportunities at their companies. Representatives from these companies participated:

  • Barksdale Control Products
  • Bucher Hydraulics
  • Caterpillar
  • Cross Company
  • Danfoss Power Solutions
  • Deltrol Fluid Products
  • Engineering Technology Services
  • FORCE America
  • Gates Corporation
  • GPM Controls
  • Husco
  • HydraForce
  • International Fluid Power Society
  • IFP Motion Solutions Inc.
  • JARP
  • Kaman
  • Lubrizol
  • Mosey’s Production Machinists
  • Muncie Power Products
  • Nott Company
  • Parker Hannifin
  • QCC
  • Ross Controls
  • Source Fluid Power
  • Sun Hydraulics
  • SunSource
  • Trelleborg Sealing Solutions
  • VEST, Inc.

For further information on the Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge, contact Stephanie Scaccianoce, Director University Programs, at

Recent Posts

Industry Mentors Key to Vehicle Challenge Success

Programs like the Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge are made possible in part by the generous support of industry volunteers as well as NFPA Education and Technology Foundation and Pascal Society donors.  The NFPA Fluid Power Vehicle Challenge strives to promote original thinking in a competitive setting by combining two technology platforms that are not normally associated with…

Member News: Gus Ramirez, Founder and Chairman of HUSCO, inducted into Georgia Tech Hall of Fame

NFPA member news is designed to inform members of key industry updates in quick, bite-sized posts that provide only the most important information. This week’s update comes from HUSCO. HUSCO recently announced that Agustin “Gus” Ramirez was inducted into the Georgia Tech College of Engineering Hall of Fame late April. Ramirez received both his Bachelor’s…

NFPA Welcomes New Member: Mapal Inc.

Mapal is a cutting tool manufacturer. Producing PCD, CBN, and Solid Carbide tools for manufacturing. World headquarters is located in Aalen Germany with multiple facilities worldwide including two in the US at Port Huron, Mi., and Fountain Inn, Sc. Mapal is the world leader and produces more PCD tools than any other company worldwide. Having…