Four New Fluid Power Standards Published

fluid power standardization

Standardization development continues in the field of fluid power systems and components. TC 131 — the technical committee directly responsible for fluid power — has 229 published ISO standards to date. There are 36 standards currently under development. The following ISO standards were recently published:

Subcommittee 1 – Terms and symbols
ISO 18582-2:2018
Fluid power — Specification of reference dictionary — Part 2: Definitions of classes and properties of pneumatics

Subcommittee 6 – Contamination control
ISO 16889:2008/Amd 1:2018
Hydraulic fluid power — Filters — Multi-pass method for evaluating filtration performance of a filter element — Amendment 1

Subcommittee 7 – Sealing devices
ISO 16589-1:2011/Amd 1:2018
Rotary shaft lip-type seals incorporating thermoplastic sealing elements — Part 1: Nominal dimensions and tolerances — Amendment 1

Subcommittee 9 – Installations and systems
ISO/TR 22165:2018
Pneumatic fluid power — Application notes for the improvement of the energy efficiency of pneumatic systems

Questions about fluid power standards? Interested in getting involved standards? Visit NFPA’s website or contact Denise Husenica at